Very Best Brownies

IMG_5881

Boxed mix brownies are my weakness. They seem to come out perfect every time, and the texture is just right. Today, however, I decided to give from-scratch brownies a chance again because I like to know exactly what is going into my food, as supposed to box mixes filled with crazy ingredients. Plus, it’s more fun to make stuff from scratch! 🙂

IMG_5878

This is actually a recipe I made a few months ago and never got around to making it a second time. Then a few days ago, I noticed PeanutButter and Onion posted a brownie recipe that looked delicious… And what do you know? She posted that same recipe I tried a little while ago! It was a sign to try these again. Furthermore, I wanted to make the brownies again to make sure they were my favorite. Today I gave this recipe another whirl and I was so happy that the brownies came out rich, chewy, and yummy again! I’ve tried other brownie recipes, and this one is the best!

IMG_5876

My brownies don’t look exactly like the picture from the original recipe, but other than that, they are delicious! I lined my pan with aluminum foil instead of the recommended parchment paper, so maybe that caused them to bake differently? I will make these brownies again in parchment paper to see if it changes anything.

IMG_5874

(For the record: I also used salted butter instead of unsalted butter, and regular salt instead of sea salt. I used a 9×9 pan, resulting in slightly thinner brownies)

Overall, these brownies are rich and flavorful and I would recommend making them. My favorite way to eat one of these is with a scoop of vanilla ice cream… YUM! Let me know if you give these a try.

On another note, I think that I will be posting on this blog every Friday or Saturday from now on. Friday evenings are my favorite time to bake because I don’t have to worry about school work and stuff, so I think posting on the weekend will be best.

Have a great weekend and happy baking!

IMG_5883

Very Best Brownies

  • Servings: 9 medium brownies
  • Print

Adapted from Cookie and Kate

Ingredients
•10 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into ½-inch slices
•1¼ cups sugar
•¾ cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder
•½ teaspoon salt
•¼ teaspoon baking powder
•2 cold large eggs
•1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
•⅔ cup all-purpose flour
•⅓ cup chocolate chips

Instructions
1.Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit with a rack in the lower third of the oven. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with two criss-crossed pieces of parchment paper, making sure that the paper is long enough to go up the sides a couple of inches. Grease the parchment paper.
2.Brown the butter: Melt the butter in a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat. Continue to cook the butter, while whisking constantly, until it’s a pale golden brown and the particles suspended in it are reddish-brown. This usually takes me about 10 minutes.
3.Remove the pan from heat and stir in the sugar. Then add the cocoa powder, sea salt, baking powder and espresso powder. Stir until the ingredients are thoroughly incorporated. Let the mixture cool for 5 minutes.
4.Add the eggs one at a time, beating vigorously with a wooden spoon or silicone spatula after each one. When the mixture looks thick, shiny and well blended, add the vanilla extract and the flour. Stir until you no longer see streaks of flour. Then beat vigorously (put those arm muscles to work!) for 50 strokes with the wooden spoon or spatula.
5.At this point, the mixture should be no more than slightly warm (if not, let it cool for a few more minutes). Fold in the chocolate chunks or chips.
6.Spread the batter in the lined pan, then use a knife to make light swirls in the top of the batter. Bake on the lower rack for about 25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean. Cool the brownies in the pan on a baking rack.
7.Once the brownies are completely cool, lift the edges of the parchment paper and transfer the brownies to a cutting board. Use a plastic knife to cut the brownies into 9.

Leave a Reply

